Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

Association of Patrons and
Trustees of Catholic Schools

Welcome to the APTCS website. We welcome your comments and suggestions to improve the site. Please use the ”Contact Us” tab to submit your comments.

Who We are

The Association of Patrons and Trustees of Catholic Schools (APTCS) is established for the advancement of education in accordance with the Catholic Ethos, through promoting best operational practice in the exercise of Trusteeship and Patronage of schools.

Under the Education Act (1998) the Patron determines the characteristic spirit of the school. APTCS provides support to Patrons and Trustees in schools concerning governance and compliance, policies, property, Trustees’ obligations, Patrons’ duties, ethos and financial matters. Among the Patrons’ responsibilities is the appointment of the Board of Management.


Our Vision

As Patrons and Trustees we are diverse in terms of individual histories and founding intentions but we are united in the belief that the education of the whole person must include deep questions about the purpose and meaning of life and that the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus guide the answers we offer.

We support freedom of educational choice where the state provides funding for education while parents can choose those faith schools that reflect their wishes and hopes for their children.


APTCS Associates AGM May 2023

APTCS Associates AGM May 2023

APTCS Associates AGM Business Presentation - PM May 2023 APTCS Associates AGM Opening Reflection May 2023 Barbara Coupar presentation Catholic teachers and leaders APTCS 11th May 2023

read more
Easter 2023

Easter 2023

Please read the full presentation here.

CEO, Alan Hynes
Chairperson, Marie Griffin

General Secretary, John Curtis
President, Deirdre Mathews

CEO, Eilis Humphreys
Chairperson, Paul Meany